Bee Project

The educational beehive at the Hönggerberg campus of ETH Zürich

The educational beehive project of the Department of Biology at ETH Zürich was started in March 2022. The project gives interested students the opportunity to learn the theory and correct practices of beekeeping directly on campus. It is a unique activity that complements regular studies and lets a student community oversee a beehive. Moreover, the beehive can be used in practical demonstrations for teaching purposes.

This 12-hour timelapse of a brood comb shows its development when placed in a honey super. Hatching of bees can be observed by viewing the brood comb.

Filmed by Prof. Rudolf Glockshuber

Our current goal is to teach students all necessary steps of modern beekeeping, including queen breeding and developing new bee populations, by the end of 2022.Later on, the acquired knowledge will be passed on to the next generations of students. Furthermore, the sales of campus honey will cover much of beehive maintenance costs.

The maintenance of the campus beehive is a joint responsibility of the Department of Biology and the VeBiS. The project is supported by Green Space Management Hönggerberg GH.

As of now, a core team of around 15 students are taking care of the bee hive. We started with 5 young bee populations in March 2022, which developed into full-fledged populations that already produced 67 kg of the first-ever ETH campus honey at the end of May. Currently, we are breeding our own queens from our most successful populations.

If you are interested in the work of the bee committee, we welcome you to write to us at info [at] vebis [punkt] ch.

Concept of Operation

Pictures

Bienenprojekt

Der Lehrbienenstand auf dem Hönggerberg-Campus der ETH Zürich

Der Lehrbienenstand des Departements Biologie der ETH Zürich auf dem Hönggerberg-Campus wurde im März 2022 gegründet. Er bietet interessierten Studierenden die Möglichkeit, Theorie und Praxis der modernen Bienenhaltung als Ergänzung zum regulären Studium zu erlernen und den Bienenstand als eigenverantwortliche Interessensgemeinschaft nachhaltig zu betreiben. Darüber hinaus kann der Bienenstand auch von Lehramtsstudierenden für praktische Demonstrationen genutzt werden.

Der Film zeigt Bilder im Abstand von 12 Stunden von einer Brutwabe, die in den Honigraum gehängt wurde. Man kann damit den Verlauf des Schlüpfens verfolgen.

Film gedreht von Prof. Rudolf Glockshuber

Aktuell ist unser Ziel, dass die Studierenden bis Ende 2022 alle über das laufende Jahr anfallenden Schritte der modernen Bienenhaltung inklusive Königinnenzucht und Bildung neuer Bienenvölker praktisch erlernt haben, so dass sie dieses Wissen selbst an die nächste Studierendengeneration weitergeben können. Darüber hinaus wollen wir durch den Verkauf des ETH-Campushonigs den nachhaltigen Betrieb des Bienenstands durch Deckung der laufenden Kosten sicherstellen.

Verantwortlich für den Betrieb des Bienenstands sind das Departement Biologie und der Verein der Biologiestudierenden VeBiS. Das Projekt wird durch das Grünflächen-Management Hönggerberg unterstützt.

Aktuell betreuen ca. 15 Studierende den Bienenstand auf dem Hönggerberg-Campus. Wir haben im März 2022 mit 5 Jungvölkern begonnen. Diese haben sich schnell zu vollwertigen Völkern entwickelt, so dass wir Ende Mai bereits 67 kg des ersten ETH-Campushonigs ernten konnten. Aktuell züchten wir unsere eigenen Bienenköniginnen aus unseren besten Völkern.

Falls du Interesse an der Arbeit der Bienenkommission hast, schreib uns an info [at] vebis [punkt] ch.

Betriebskonzept

Bilder